A Great Western on the Great Northern.

lancer1027

Western Thunderer
I like the way it's the men's clothes that really mark this as a 'Period' photo - especially the enthusiast/photographer on the left - Jacket collar & (no doubt) tie, brown trousers, the big camera case.... a 1960's Railfan personified!! ;)
It could almost have been my dad. But i dont think he went to Peterborough much.

Mind you if it had been from 1970 onwards i would have been in tow;):D

Colin M

Western Thunderer
I like the way it's the men's clothes that really mark this as a 'Period' photo - especially the enthusiast/photographer on the left - Jacket collar & (no doubt) tie, brown trousers, the big camera case.... a 1960's Railfan personified!! ;)

And he's being allowed to wander around the sidings freely... ahh... the good ole days, before the health and safety police took over!

simond

Western Thunderer
Cracking photo.

Couple if thoughts / questions:

I'm just getting into lining my King (current build) and Castle (been putting it off for years) and it is interesting to note how understated the lining is. Do we think this is typical for the early 30's (which the lettering would seem to be)?

There's no lining on the back of the tender. I'm sure I've seen some photos showing this. Can anyone point me at a definitive statement/guide on whether I should, or should not, add lining there ("should not" is the preferred answer!!!)

Can anyone identify the patch of colour above the number plate? Looks too big to be a route disc?

Thanks
Simon

adrian

Flying Squad
Hi,

I'd be very wary of using this photo for livery details.

This is a better link back to the photo
http://www.peterboroughimages.co.uk/blog/?p=3776

This says it's Clun Castle in the mid sixties, possible on a railtour, presumably in preservation hands by this point.

Then from here
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GWR_4073_Class_7029_Clun_Castle

In 1967, carrying (non-authentic) Great Western livery it hauled trains...