G3 LSWR Open wagon kit

jamiepage

Western Thunderer
Williams Models have, in conjunction with Tony Riley, introduced a model of a LSWR round ended wagon to D1309.
I'm no expert on LSWR matters, but the body represents a four plank version, the lower plank being wider than the other three. There are one or two photos in LSWR Wagons Vol 1 but I shall look for more as well.
According to the book, these wagons probably had sheet rails fitted during pre- grouping days; if so, I may have to scratchbuild a representation because it doesn't appear to be included in the kit.

The body sections, solebars etc have been cut from wood, and they have been packaged together with Williams' standard components for sprung buffers, axleguards, Panter axleboxes, brake gear etc. Numerous plastic castings for strapping etc,separate bolt castings, various rivets, wire etc, and good instructions complete the parts, the whole being presented in a substantial box.

The only progress tonight has been to scribe the body side door vertical joints and to liberally coat all wooden components with sanding sealer ready for rubbing down tomorrow. The rather thick coat has caught the light in the photo., but will sand down well.

First impressions of the wooden components are very favourable. Dimensionally good, the edges are all crisp and square, and the outer planking has been scored to represent the prototype chamfering. A nice touch.
Main body panels are presumably basswood, not sure what the darker wood is, but it is close grained and all cut very square. End stanchions are chamfered. Floor panel is ply.
IMG_0001.JPG

The plastic mouldings look good at first sight. Lots of other little bits which will no doubt all have a purpose.
IMG_0002.JPG

The remaining items for running gear etc.
IMG_0003.JPG

All in all, a comprehensive kit of parts and I'm looking forward to getting on with it.

AndyB

Western Thunderer
I'll be following with interest as I also have one of these kits.