7mm James' O gauge workbench thread

jhockuk

Western Thunderer
I thought I would start up a work bench thread and show my ineptitude to the world...

Being serious for a moment, please don't expect any master pieces, what you will get is the attempts of a newbie to world of brass kits and few other bits and bobs that are being built for my O gauge layout, which is being planned at present.

First up is an OBA wagon from PRMRP, which I understand from my introduction thread is of interest to some people who are going to the Bristol show in a couple of weeks.

Firstly I am a beginner when it comes to brass kits so please take that into consideration when you read this.

20130104_223417.jpg

Sorry for the poor picture but it was taken on my phone, better ones will follow when I did out the camera.

The instructions are minimal, basicly 2 pages with diagrams of one end and the underside and written comments on what what goes where. I note from PRMRPs website that some of the kits have have updated better quality instructions.

From what I can tell there is no planking detail on the inside of the wagon sides, the floor has planking and load stanchions but not the sides.

None sprung buffers included.

Kit included instanter couplings, I am not sure if this correct or not but what I can tell these wagons all have screw couplings, that is not to say in their original form they should use instanter?

Solebars, I have struggled to get these to look right as there seems to be gap between the bottom of the wagon side and the solebar, but I am pretty sure this is down to building skill and not the kit.

Please don't get me wrong I think this is a good kit and will be buying more kits from them, I just think they need a bit of work to get them to look really good.

Like I say all the above comments are from the perspective of a complete novice and such be treated as such, but I wanted to get these written down as people had expressed interest in the kits.