7mm The NKLR a narrow gauge odyssey

Discussion in 'Layout Progress' started by Hobbyhorse, 7 June 2020.

1. Hobbyhorse

Hobbyhorse Western Thunderer

Thought it's about time a started this thread about my newish layout, although I've been building it for two years now it still early days.
    It's ON30/ 0-16.5 ish which is totally new to me, coming from a kit building/ lostwax casting business recently this is my first layout in a long time. For me it's about getting back to the hobby, and it's been an enjoyable process so far.
    I won't start at the beginning but flip from project to project, starting with a Gantry Crane which is keep me entertained at the moment.
    Simon

IMG_2625.JPG IMG_2719.JPG IMG_2730.JPG IMG_2732.JPG

2. AdeMoore

AdeMoore Western Thunderer

Marvellous mod,l making skills, let’s see more please!
    Cheers
    Ade

3. Hobbyhorse

Here you go Ade, just completed the carriage this weekend. Just the detailing which I'll do once it's working.
    Simon

IMG_2736.JPG IMG_2739.JPG IMG_2738.JPG IMG_2768.JPG IMG_2769.JPG IMG_2767.JPG IMG_2761.JPG

4. Dog Star

Dog Star Western Thunderer

Just so that I get the correct understanding of the picture - what is the reason for the plate-with-holes on the left hand side of the photo?

thank you, Graham

AdeMoore likes this.
  5. Hobbyhorse

Graham it's the rivet jig that tac solders to the plate, then the punch which has a 1mm parallel shank goes through it to guide the punch.
    Hope that's understandable.
    Simon

Jon Nazareth, AdeMoore and Dog Star like this.
  6. AdeMoore

Hobbyhorse likes this.
  7. Hobbyhorse

With this project being narrow gauge and with US sleeper spacing it's definitely different to all the other track work I've built over the years.
    I have been following Fastrack for a few years watching the developments with their assembly jigs, point forms, Stock aids and frog helpers.