7mm 31/31.5mm gauge widening?

Steph Dale

Western Thunderer
Guys,
Does the 0 finescale/narrow approach usually have gauge-widening applied?
What's the convention?
Cheers,
Steph

Dikitriki

Flying Squad
Hi Steph

I don't know what the convention is - even if there is one - so all I can say is that I did not gauge widen on any of the curved points I built, which went down to 5'6'' in the yard, and 5' on the inside road of the 3 throw point.

Where I built my own plain curved trackwork as part of a formation, I did not gauge widen, but obviously, where I used RTP, that was 32mm so had widening built in.

I would have thought with 31.5mm, which is my experience, no widening is necessary where curves are, say 5'6'' plus. At 31mm, I suspect widening would be necessary, since there is no 'slop' at all, but I have no experience of that gauge.

Cheers

Richard

Steph Dale

Western Thunderer
Thanks for that Richard!
I must confess I'd either forgotten or was otherwise unaware that Heyside was 'narrow gauge'. Your info will help with establishing clearances on a chassis I'm working up at the moment.
Cheers,
Steph

Debs.

Western Thunderer
I produce O-MF+ gauge-widened track gauges for 7mm. scale layouts containing tight radii (i.e: generally at, or less than 1200 mm.) to a specification recommended by Martin Wynne (Templot), whom recommended that modellers include a gauge-widening of 0.25mm. in such circumstances.

Thus meaning that the appropriate gauge-widened roller gauge has to offer the following dimensions:
- track gauge 31.75mm
- crossing flangeway 1.5mm
- running rail to check rail gauge 1.75mm (i.e. check gauge stays the same at 30.0mm.)

0MF+ Gauges (Large).JPG

Steph Dale

Western Thunderer
Debs,

Gottit. Thanks for the clarification - I can load that info in to CAD and get the clearances worked through very easily now.

Very many thanks,

Steph

Overseer

Western Thunderer