SLA 3D printer resin safety (or otherwise)

Chris Veitch

Western Thunderer
The article 3D printing, a beginner's perspective by Johnny Duffett in MRJ290 has rather got me thinking about the safety of SLA resins in the home environment. I am a 3D printing beginner in that I've recently bought one, but am at the continually frustrated stage hereby I can model what I want quite happily, but the optimum combination of exposure times, resin types and printing angles continually eludes me (while seeming to come so easily to others).

What rang alarm bells with me was the mention of the carcinogenic nature of the resins - I know they're marked as "toxic" and have comprehensive data and safety information available, but "toxic" is a broad term and there's a big difference between a transient headache or skin rash and a potentially fatal illness.

I've not been able to find anything that gives what appears to be objective information of the safe use of these in the sort of environments we probably use them in. I've seen articles pointing out that the plant based resins are actually no safer than any others, but some of these seem to be produced with the aim of boosting PPE and fume extraction sales.

So, do any forum members (possibly with a professional insight) know of any publicly available objective studies of the risks of SLA resin use in the home? My gut feeling is that the very rapid rise of the technology in this environment - as opposed to its use in industry which by its nature will be better regulated and equipped with the relevant protection and mitigation measures - means that there probably aren't any long term studies to give any meaningful data.

NB: this may have been more appropriate in Question or queries, but I've dropped it in here as it applies to a specific workbench technique - moderators please move it if they think fit!

Bill Bedford

Western Thunderer
Formlab's new polyurethane resins carry the following warning: