7mm Stretching the Point... LNWR preferred

Dog Star

Western Thunderer
Or... how do you make your stretchers? As far as I am aware there are three suppliers of stretcher bars for those of us who make our own track... being:-

* Ambis;
* C&L;
* JLTRT.

Unless I have missed the "point", all of the listed options "turn out" to be of the flexible style of stretcher where the switch blades are joined by a vertical bar of rectangular section. Hartley Hill is based on the LNWR PW practices circa 1900 and hence the turnouts ought to have the rigid style of stretcher bar (forged ends and round bar between the ends).

Anyone know if such a product is available in 7mm? Anyone any ideas as to how to make something like the rigid stretcher bars?

thank you, Graham

Rob Pulham

Western Thunderer
Hi Graham, any chance of a photo for the complete novices amongst us? - It sounds like how I made the coupling rods on Severn may do it.

To make those, I filed a flat on a piece of round bar and soldered my flat strip to it (longer and wider than the round at the ends) to create the end bosses and then rounded the back of my flat strip so that the end result is almost round with flats on the end. I looks the part and is very strong.

S

Simon Dunkley

That, Graham, was a truly zen-like response.

:bowdown: to the master... (unless he be called Bo-Jing*).

*A novice once approached Bo-Jing, and asked, "Master, what is the secret of the Buddha nature?"
Bo-Jing replied, "I will share the secret of the Buddha nature with you, but first you must show your respects to the Buddha."
The novice bowed reverentially in front of a statue of Buddha, whereupon the Master gave him a terrific kick in the seat of his pants.

Rob Pulham

Western Thunderer
Thanks Graham,

The one at the front looks to be connected to a handrail knob at the right hand side:))

Not quite as I described making Severn's coupling rods then:oops:.